Scholarships and Awards

Since 2015, the ASHM Scholarship Program provides a variety of scholarships to assist ASHM members, affiliates and others in the HIV, viral hepatitis and sexual health sector to attend national and international conferences to support their continuing professional development. Scholarships have previously been awarded to HIV and HBV S100 prescribers (GP/Primary care), Sexual Health physicians, hospital-based specialists managing HIV, nurses and community pharmacists.

Upcoming Scholarship Opportunities


Scholarship applications are now being accepted for HIV Clinicians to attend CROI 2023 in Seattle, Washington USA from 19 – 22 February 2023. Learn more and APPLY HERE.

Applicants please note: You must seek pre-approval from CROI to register for the conference. Please apply to register  before submitting a scholarship application.


Scholarship applications are now being accepted for HIV Clinicians, Nurses and Pharmacists to attend The Asia-Pacific AIDS & Co-Infections Conference (APACC) 2023 to be held in Singapore from 8 to 10 June 2023. In-person and virtual scholarships are available.

Clinicians APPLY HERE

Nurses and pharmacists APPLY HERE

Submission deadline: 19 February 2023

Levinia Crooks Emerging Leader Award

ASHM proudly established The Levinia Crooks Emerging Leader Award in 2018, honouring the legacy of the late Adjunct Professor Levinia Crooks AM - a leader in public health and the ASHM Chief Executive Officer from 1999-2017.

For over 30 years Levinia took an active role in looking for emerging leaders within the HIV, viral hepatitis, other BBV and sexual health sector - personally mentoring many talented individuals.

Each year two awards are bestowed, as a way of acknowledging Levinia’s important contribution to the sector and recognising the outstanding work of rising "stars" in the field of both viral hepatitis and another working in blood borne viruses and sexually transmissible infections (BBV and STI).

This prestigious award acknowledges the importance of fostering emerging leaders, who demonstrate leadership that is bold, innovative, inclusive and inspires collaboration within the sector - extremely symbolic to Levinia’s approach.

Nominations for this years Levinia Crooks Emerging Leader Award will be open shortly, for more information contact


  Levinia Crooks Emerging Leader in Viral Hepatitis Award Levinia Crooks Emerging Leader in BBV/STI Award
2021 Megan Hughes, Sexual Health Services Tasmania Kezia Blackledge, Aboriginal Health & Medical Research Council

A/Prof Eric Chow, Central Clinical School, Monash University

Special Mention: Dr Marcel Kalau, GP Thorne Harbour Health

2019 A/Prof Behzad Hajarizadeh, Senior Lecturer, Viral Hepatitis Clinical Research Program, The Kirby Institute Dr Vincent Cornelisse, Staff Specialist in Sexual Health Medicine and Medical Unit Manager at Kirketon Road Centre
2018 Jennifer MacLachlan, Epidemiologist, WHO Collaborating Centre for Viral Hepatitis, The Doherty Institute Dr Angie Pinto, Staff Specialist at Royal Prince Alfred hospital

Join our Scholarships Program as a Supporter

ASHM is always eager to hear from anyone interested in supporting the scholarship program. We are a tax deductible gift recipient and contributions to the scholarship fund will attract a tax deductible receipt, if requested. Find us also listed as a charity registered with the Australian Charities and Not-for-profits Commission (ACNC). Donations can be for domestic and/or international conferences, for domestic and regional attendees. 

For more information contact:  

Past Scholarships

Download the ASHM Annual Report to see recipients from that period. 

Thanks to our Scholarship Program Supporters